Hello frozen world!


After a few days of February thaw in north Iowa, we were once again glazed over with freezing rain and sleet and snow. An undeniable reminder that spring fever is yet premature. I must wait a little longer.

For more than half a century of life, I have experienced the warmth of spring overcoming the frigid hold of winter. I know it will happen. Yet, I am impatient.

But in my impatience I continue to find more and more hopeful momentum that pulls me forward. Soon the buds, now encapsulated in ice, will swell and break into the vibrant greens of a new season.

~ by fourfeetsixinches on March 2, 2011.

2 Responses to “Hello frozen world!”

  1. I love how you write. Years ago I wrote a devotion for a church Lenten book. You write so eloquently, and this is not. However, I wanted to share it with you. This was written around 1983. “My mother has recently been very ill and in the hospital. Once when I was visiting her the pastor from her church came to visit also. He said that in our lives there are many winters such as illness, depression, numerous everyday problems and the final winter is death. But, as always, just when we think winter will never end, spring arrives bringing new life, new beginnings. How wonderful that is to know that we as Christians can always be sure that in every winter, even the winter of death, spring is just around the corner.”–from Victoria

  2. Now I think I put the correct e-mail. Miss you guys.

Leave a Reply

 
