vernal equinox

last week was the march equinox. equal lengths of day and night. of light and dark.

i would like to say that this photo is of the equinox moon, but that would make me a liar. i took it the night before. its beauty captured me that night. the night before. and it was supposed to be even more capturing the on the actual eve of spring. but there were clouds. lots of them. it was hidden from sight.

the Scriptures tell us not to hide our light under a bushel. i sang a song about it in the sunbeam choir when i was much smaller. much younger. much more innocent. we are challenged to let it shine in such a way that others will see it. . and if/when they do, they will give glory to our Father who is in heaven. i believe we have reflective characteristics, as does this moon. certainly. it reflects the light of the sun. i also believe that we have the glory of our Creator within us. we have rivers of living water within us. its just a matter of what we allow those things to do. where we allow that light to shine. where we allow those rivers to flow. how much we serve others, our God, or merely ourselves.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, “Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?” Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small doesn’t serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We were born to manifest the glory of God that is within us…And as we let our light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

-Nelson Mandella

~ by fourfeetsixinches on March 28, 2011.

3 Responses to “vernal equinox”

  1. Vivid. This picture causes me to pause a little and remember,appreciate,God revealing just some of His majesty and might through His creation.

  2. I have a saying with the boys – If you’er looking at the moon who is looking at you? You ( Grandma). I have had this game with them since they were tiny. Cole told me one night that Boogie and him saw the moon and they said Grandma is looking at us! I think it is kind of neat that when I am gone when they see the moon they will think of me. Suppose it sounds kind of silly but it makes me feel good that all through their life rather young or old when they see the moon they will think of me. I love my husband and I love my daughter and son in-law but when it comes to those two little boys words can not even begin to say how much I love those boys. Thanks for sharing your pictures. I will make sure the boys look at this so we can play our game!

    • San, I can almost see you and the grandsons peeking out the window at the moon… Is good to see you found this site, and it’s good to hear from you. Am guessing you are an awesome grandma!

Leave a Reply

 
