tell me what this says to you?

I found this nest from last year along the roadside at Mallard Marsh. It was difficult to get a a good shot, as there were so many branches protecting it from clear view. And then there is the ditch that is not hospitable to wheelchairs and those who dwell in them. So this is the photo I ended up getting. It has stirred some thought in me, and I’ve started writing about some of those things. But this morning I had this thought…”Ask them what it might stir in them.”  Some word picture? Some metaphor?

I will continue to work out what it stirs in me, but in the meantime, I would love to hear your thoughts. [My 12-year old daughter would tell me that this is an incredibly nerdy thing to do…  😉 ]

~ by fourfeetsixinches on April 1, 2011.

10 Responses to “tell me what this says to you?”

  1. To me this says….. In the center of your being, of your consciousness, you will find stillness. A protection from the harsh conditions of the world. If we use what has been given to us, we can rise above the challenges and be set free. Build in faith. This image to me says, do not be afraid of the obstacles you must face in order to continue on your journey. Sometimes what seems to be a roadblock can be disguised as your own protection.

    “For because of our faith, he has brought us into this place of highest privilege where we now stand, and we confidently and joyfully look forward to wcatually becoming all that God has had in mind for us to be”
    Romans 5:2

  2. But you’re a nice nerd, Scott & very entertaining. This old nest reminds me of the “empty nest” feeling when, all of a sudden, our children are grown up and leaving home to go to college or job or military service. We feel like they don’t need us anymore and we just hope that they remember all the “good advice” and “good examples” we gave them. Unknowingly they do, in some form, follow in our footsteps and carry on the family traditions and ideals. “May God save us all!” :^)

  3. Hope. Hope that spring is on it’s way!

  4. Peering at this nest through bare branches, I’m reminded that soon (I hope!) the leaves will emerge to hide the nest from sight.

    Here’s my metaphor: I think sometimes we are open and forthright, and at other times we hide our thoughts and cloak our feelings to feel safe. Which is better? Who is to say? Only God knows our heart!

  5. Caught.

  6. I think it says “I will hold you.”

  7. Thanks for your responses here [and for those of you who responded via email]. Now I’ve got to finish my thoughts and get them posted. Soon…

  8. This nest reminds me that I am small enough to build a larger-than-me safe place for a guest to dwell. It reminds me of us, family and friends who briefly dwell as guests in our ‘hidden’ home surrounded by Chippewa National Forest in northern Minnesota.

  9. Wow! I don’t even know what to say. I always think of a nest as a home that takes time to build. Bit by bit it is built…….with a variety of materials. Isn’t that how our internal house is built……expereince after expereince? When does mama bird push me out of the nest? When does she decide it is time for me to fly on my own?

Leave a Reply

 
