traveled…

“Every road that’s traveled…teaches something new. Every road that’s narrow…pushes us to choose__”


Alright. So i started rambling on here. Blogging, I guess. Not sure at all what it would amount to. Still not sure. Yet, for those of you who have found their way to these pages, and have offered affirmation, encouragement to me,.. I have truly appreciated your responses. I have truly appreciated the chance to briefly connect again.

Is a crazy thing to think about, that over the years, decades actually, God has seen fit for our paths to cross in one way or another. For some length of time. Some longer than others. But I have loved hearing from you since beginning to blog. You’ve been great companions to me along this road of life.

Bonhoeffer makes a couple of statements that have intrigued me since the first time I read them. “Let him who cannot be alone beware of being in community…Let him who is not in community beware of being alone.” I have long been aware of the part of me that comes alive when I can be alone. I have long been aware of the part of me that comes alive when I am with people. Neither can be neglected without exacting some price to our vitality as individuals. Our vitality as a community.

This is a photo of one of the places I stop on the way to work some days. Or on the way back home. If I have time. To be quiet. To not be found. To think and pray. To journal. To be alone.

So as the quote above by Wayne Kirkpatrick and Amy Grant speaks… I am grateful that our paths have crossed. Grateful for the miles we’ve traveled together. Grateful for what I’ve learned within the context of your friendship with me.  Not always grateful when the road got narrow and I had to choose in such ways that pushed me to simplify. To let go of some for a time. But for what time we’ve had to travel together, you have indeed been gifts of great richness to me. Thank you.

~ by fourfeetsixinches on April 12, 2011.

5 Responses to “traveled…”

  1. Oh Scotty—how I’ve missed your wisdom. So glad I found your blog….love it!

  2. I am so enlighened and intrigued at the moment I am speechless. LOVE THIS Scott!

  3. Thank you for the reminder that we must balance time alone and with others – for our sake and for theirs.

  4. I appreciate the perspective in this picture,not just through the lens but also the written reflection.

    This picture brings to my imagination the Road to Emmaus ,sensing Jesus encouraging trust ,belief,journey,protection,and the unknown.

    So much here in this picture ….

  5. Scotty….So deep and insightful!…Deep down in the valleys, but never alone…And always some thing to look up to and keep moving onward and upward for…Much the same as Jesus’ trip…You so inspire me, and many others…

Leave a Reply

 
