not like anyone promised….

I love it when spring starts to gain some momentum. When the rigor mortise of winter begins to be overtaken by the new life, the new energy of a brand new season of growth. It gets in my veins. It gets my energy flowing again with hope and the different kinds of freedom that come with spring and summer. Is a great time of year for me. For many, I believe, up here in the northern parts of Iowa. People’s moods start to bounce back from the Seasonal Affective Disorder which is common here. It knocks on my clinic doors throughout late fall and winter. And then it starts to dissipate as the days lengthen and the sun shines more frequently and the temperatures warm.

Last night before bed “Coverage You Can Count On” said there would be rain today. Likely changing into snow by evening. But as I rolled my way from bed to coffee pot this morning, I caught a glimpse of something unpleasant in my peripheral vision. It looked white. Yesterday it was green. This morning white. Channel 3 said “rain.” Is this what we call “white rain”? The only time I have ever seen white rain was in Grandma Edith’s medicine cabinet. It was some kind of distinctively scented hair spray.I digress…

I know it won’t be long until the daffodils get another chance to push into bloom. Before the chives continue to reach toward the spring sun and again offer their sweet, onion-like flavor to the cooking in the kitchen. I’ve been ready for so long. It’s not like anyone promised that once spring started to show up, that there wouldn’t be any of this regression back to winter stuff. It’s just the weather, after all.

In the book of Hebrews we are told that the ancient people of faith were commended for this: “being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Looking out of my office window I can only

see  the wet, heavy stuff continue to  fall, white and slush and tracks in the snow that covers the ground. It covers almost everything with cold and wet. At a glance, it’s really hard to see past it. So on a surface level I hope for things I cannot see today. Spring. Warmth. Sunlight. Growth.

And under the surface, I also hope for things I cannot see today. I long to keep moving forward with purpose. The writer of the book of Hebrews encourages us to “throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us…”  Run well today, friends. Run strong. “Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith…”

~ by fourfeetsixinches on April 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
