on your marks…

i was trying to catch the flash of the starter’s pistol, so i took over a hundred pictures of this guy’s hand on the night of the track meet.  this is the closest i came to capturing the moment it was fired. middle school track meets can get long, so in between events, i kept busy on this particular night with my camera…back in my 20’s. in my days as a walking man, when i had these two awesome mentors named Paul & Margaret Pauley, they encouraged a little group of us to memorize sections of the Bible. i followed their encouragement. some of it found its way deep inside of me. so for years there has been a section of scripture in 1 corinthians that has spurred me on somehow. inspired me to keep going when it otherwise may have felt easier to give up. to stop. to quit trying. infused a sense of purpose into an what at times seemed like meaningless life events.

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such as way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I buffet my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”   1 Corinthians 9: 24-27

run well this week, friends. do not run aimlessly. run in such a way as to get the prize. bless you.

~ by fourfeetsixinches on June 12, 2011.

3 Responses to “on your marks…”

  1. Thanks for the encouragement to run to get the prize. Sometimes in life’s everyday dissappointments my trust and stamina to run the race waver. I read Psalm 57 today about God’s unfailing love and faithfulness and His promise to fulfill His purpose for me. So now I have renewed strength to run the race for the prize.

  2. Love this picture. Makes me think of false starts,gotta hate those . But the finish line……Tasty.

  3. Thanks for the”message”, the encouragement to train and prepare for the race that counts. I think your writings could be mateerial for a book, maybe devotionals? Thanks again for sharing your blog. Don

Leave a Reply

 
