beauty for the bugs

confession: a couple of weeks ago i was driving home from a singing engagement in illinois. hurrying. there was some great sky and sunset stuff going on, but i didn’t have time to stop. so as i was driving, i took out my camera and attempted to snap some photos without looking through to viewer. sort of point and shoot and see what i could capture. that was my method. not sure how safe it was, but…

anyway, these first two shots are of almost the same scene. but the auto-focus mechanism on the camera made them look very different. one is focused on the bugs stuck to my windshield, the other on the sunset hanging over the horizon. so, a reminder to me; what i choose to focus on makes a significant difference. i can look at a smudged windshield occupied by dead bugs or a sunset. and it’s not like i’m encouraging some sort of pollyanna approach to life…only look at the “nice things” and pretend that the less pleasant stuff isn’t actually there. not at all. there will likely always be some kind of bug smears that get in the way of beauty around us…i just don’t want to miss the beauty for the bugs. 

i got a text from pastor scott mathis in wyoming this morning. said he was praying for me to “be wise. to keep an eternal perspective…” sometimes when i focus on  the bugs on my windshield and miss the beauty of the sunsets, it is similar to scott’s prayer for me today. keeping an eternal perspective can help us to look through the bugs of day to day life. those things that block the big picture. those in-your-face things that cloud the eternal perspective.

in jeremiah 31 God assures us that He has loved us with an everlasting love, and that He continues in faithfulness toward us. keeping that promise in mind can help maintain an eternal perspective. it can keep the bugs on the windshield from blocking the beauty from our view. and as such, the present focus and purpose of our lives. so i attempt to keep asking myself: “just where is my most consistent focus? here or there? near or far? temporal or eternal? my current struggles or my hope in God?

i really like this song by Kristian Stanfill  called “Always.”     http://youtu.be/hN7L3m9jIcc

~ by fourfeetsixinches on July 25, 2011.

2 Responses to “beauty for the bugs”

  1. I needed to hear that! Thanks so much, Scott.

  2. Thanks for the very”understandable/practical” reminder, one that I certainly need and often. Pictures are such powerful reinforcers. Both Clare and I nodded yes, yes as we read it. Thanks for letting us into your life. Don
    I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. (Chinese Proverb)

Leave a Reply

 
