what took so long?

 

over the years since the accident, i’ve thought about various activities that i would be able to do that didn’t require the use of my legs. kayaking was one i have long thought i could do. but…there has been this fear. first of all, i didn’t know for sure how i would get my legs into one of these little things and then into the water. and second, which was the fear-producing thing for me; if i tip the kayak over, how will i ever get these long gangly mostly-paralyzed legs out in time to keep myself from drinking excessive amounts of water infused with duck poop? so, i’ve gone years. no…decades without trying it. without risking it.

so while in wisconsin a couple of weeks ago, we deliberated about giving it a shot. and our deliberation ended with me being lifted and slid into this brightly colored craft and then pushed into the St. Croix River. and then a two-and-a-half hour adventure downstream with my family and friends to the pick up site. it was awesome! seriously awesome! and of course, now i want one. matter of fact, i want to be out on the water right now.

when i was a “fresh cut gimp” as some of the “old guys” at rehab used to call us who were new at the paralysis thing, i took more risks. and sometimes my risks left me with more injuries. so over the years, it’s not like i’ve stopped risking, but i have had limits. up until a couple of weeks ago, this was one of them. but now, there is a whole new door that is open to me. the thing is, i was the one who wouldn’t grab onto that door knob and turn it. i was the one who kept it shut. how often, and in what various kinds of ways do we do that kind of thing?

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.”  1 Corinthians 2:9

~ by fourfeetsixinches on July 28, 2011.

6 Responses to “what took so long?”

  1. Scotty,
    Loved your description of your adventure. I think for most all of us our paralysis is our ‘fear of’. I know my fear has limited me for years. As I was thrust into a new world and lifestyle, I was freed (pretty much…okay, just somewhat) from the fear of failure. As I had to face many failures straight in the face, I found it to be empowering. That which I had avoided is what provided the refining of my spirit.
    Love ya bro,
    Roadie

  2. Scott….you continue to inspire me every day with your posts. You have a desire to acheive so much. Taking a risk, and having fear is normal, for everyone. I’m glad that you loved your awesome adventure, and that your “risk” was all that you thought it would be.

  3. Awesome, just plain awesome. You are encouragement to any (all?) of us who back away from attempting something out of just plain fear. Thanks for sharing. Pretty neat looking couple in the pix, too. Don

  4. OK paralyzed or not I would be the chicken of our “couple” to do that! I love the water but I don’t like the idea of being in a tiny little confined area that I am maneuvering all by myself in a great big area of water!!!! You guys look like pros side by side…and you look pretty darn good together too 🙂 I’ll stick to the pontoon boat…that sounds old huh? Relaxing though! Enjoy the ride Scott! I love following your posts..I remember some of those old days and some of the risks…although I think some of them were put on you by us…going out to eat while in rehab was one I remember well..oops…better stop while I”m ahead 🙂 Love you, Ann

  5. WOW!!!…You and Mary look so happy…And you, Mr. Scotty, look so “free”…Keep on going and expanding your horizons…I know you’ve got a lot more in there you can do…You’ve just gotta try…Maybe a rubber ducky, w/a life jacket, will keep you going?!…Only kidding….Sandy H.

  6. Looks like a great time. Makes me think of Chesterton’s old poem.”Here dies another day,during which I have had eyes,ears,and hands,
    and the great world around me;
    and tomorrow begins another.
    WHY AM I ALLOWED TWO?
    psalm104

Leave a Reply

 
