a new past…

one day earlier this week i was wide awake at 4:30 in the morning. brewed coffee early and finished reading a book by henry cloud called integrity. in the concluding chapter he makes this statement:

“you can literally get a ‘new past’ by doing something new today.”

i am not all that big on new year’s resolutions, but i do have to admit that i’m thinking more in the last weeks about the need for a bit of a fresh start. a redirection of some of my energies. a resetting of goals. a push to complete some things that have been trapped in dream-state rather than finding their way into more of a tangible reality. and although there is nothing all that magical about 2011 changing to 2012, it does seem to offer a starting line to run my race differently. and i do agree with dr. cloud in that the new things we attempt today do give us something new in our past.

i’ve been listening to the goo goo dolls sing a song called “better days” this afternoon:  http://youtu.be/i-kHleNYIDc   am enjoying it as i think and type here.

how quickly our moments are gone…how quickly the present becomes past. how mercilessly time waits for nothing. for no one. that said, our God offers us another start in the morning. forgives whatever we’ve done or not done that needs forgiving from today. that is worth asking for. i snapped this sunset over the hill behind our house this week because the colors caught my eye. and because it reminded me that the day was quickly becoming my past.

all throughout the scriptures there is a theme of God making things new. it is a new year now. a new day. a chance to do something new, break the status quo, and get “a new past” starting right in this moment. happy new year, friends!

~ by fourfeetsixinches on January 1, 2012.

4 Responses to “a new past…”

  1. First of all….I have read part of the book by Henry Cloud….good boook. I do like his comment about beginning a new past. The only reason I like new year’s resolutions, ( even though I know I will not keep them long) is that it makes me take a hard look at myself and decide where I need to improve. The list is usually quite lengthy!

    Your comment about the present soon (very soon) becomes our past. I begin to feel depressed because of all the “unfinished business” that I leave behind in 2011. How many times have I not forgiven as quickly as possible? How many situations still need to be resolved? How much bitterness, resentment, and anger am I carying over from 2011 to 2012. Do I really want these “unhealthy” things in my “new past?”

    • Steven, although it is certainly easier said than done, I encourage you to leave some of those unhealthy things, whatever they may be, in your past. Let them become distant past when you can! Press on!

  2. I love the idea of creating a “new past” and am going to do it now! I am not overly pleased with my 2011 past, but am now looking foward to an improved 2012 past. Beautiful picture!

    • Go for it, Leigh Ann! I almost added a classic song from my era, “Dust In The Wind” by Kansas…because of the line “only for a moment, then the moment’s gone…” What we do in the now is really the most powerful thing we can do.

Leave a Reply

 
