true beauty

was out singing/speaking this past weekend. spent a day in lincoln, nebraska and met a group of great people there. we had conversation around the topic, the reality of being disabled, [or what they referred to as “definitely-abled”]. it was a really good time together, and i believe some great results will come out of the efforts of those who are taking on that challenge to serve an underserved part of the population in many places.

on sunday, i spent the evening in a coffeehouse setting at my home church, in my hometown. another great experience, seeing friends, some of which i’ve not seen in years. i had the chance to share some of what is going on in my life currently, do some music, share some thoughts and photos, and beliefs about this great God we relate to and serve. and at both events i shared a short quote with a huge meaning for me. i will type it in below this photo of new life springing from what looked like an old, dead twig just a couple of weeks ago…

Image

“true beauty, some say, resides at the threshold of pain. this is why we can call the crucifixion beautiful. not because we are barbarians, but because there is an inherent truth and goodness in it. Christ lays his life down for all of humankind, past, present, and future. this is good; he is good. and his goodness points us to truth, truth of redemption, truth of coming restoration, truth of forgiveness.

this is why we can look back on pain in our lives and call it beautiful. it wasn’t beautiful then; it was hell. but from that hell grew a shoot, and from that shoot a leaf, and life sprang up where hell resided; that’s beautiful. God makes it so.”

 -timothy willard & jason locy, from their book, veneer

~ by fourfeetsixinches on April 17, 2012.

15 Responses to “true beauty”

  1. Awesome Scott! I’v been with my mom back in Ohio who is on the fringe between life and death. Out of the pain of this time there has come new life in new experiences shared with her. As we retell old stories we have been creating deeper connections.

    • Bill, I’ve seen some of your posts and been praying for you and your family as you go through this season. “creating deeper connections” is rich, even when painful. Blessings to you!

  2. Thank you for coming back to your old stomping grounds, Scott! It was great to see you again and hear you sing. Thank you for the REAL and encouraging words you shared.

  3. Thanks for sharing. I am sure you had great and helpful thoughts to share

  4. I was just thinking this last week…” there should be another blog coming soon from Scott” thankful to see it this morning! And the quote below the picture…wonderful! I’m printing it and taking it to my counseling class this afternoon to share. As a counselor we always have to give hope that there can be “life” that comes from the pain and hell we go through in this earthly journey. We serve a very faithful God who assures us of that and once we have personally lived through those times…when they come again we have that hope deep on the inside that, yes…there will be good that comes from this pain.

    • Cindy,
      Thanks. Is a blessing when words like Willard’s and Locy’s come along in my reading. Glad you can pass them along to your class. Always good to hear from you!

  5. Scott, It was absolutely amazing to listen and hear you and your message Sunday evening! It has been so long since I have been able to sit back and enjoy your music and be able to listen to you talk..brought back the days of the Mustard Seed 🙂 WOW..memories… I actually ran across the album from Damascus Road and the kids asked me , “Who is that?” Unfortunately I don’t have any way to listen to it any more 🙂 Rachel was also inspired and we both wished that we lived closer to be able to hear you more often! Great to see your family pics..tell them all Hi! Love you, Ann

    • Ann, it was great to see you and Rachel, and I’m still amazed that you drove all the way from Lincoln in that crazy wind! Thanks for coming, and for your encouraging words! Hope to see you again sometime soon.

  6. Scott, Even though I grew up in Harlan, I had never met you until Sunday night in Harlan. WOW! Your words were inspiritational. If you could, let me know the name of the book you read from. I’m trying to get closer to God. So many wonderful things have happened to me in the past 2 years. Your sister, Marcy, has been another great inspiration for me. Will be looking forward to meeting you again, some day.

    • Thank you, Jo Ann. The name of the book is Veneer by Timothy Willard and Jason Locy. I’ve just started reading it, so not sure what my assessment of the whole book is yet, but I like what I’ve read so far.
      I hope we cross paths again sometime.

  7. Thanks for sharing, Scott. The quote you posted was a real encouragement. I’ve read it more than once. I think the best part is—God makes it so!

  8. This is a rich quote.There is alot packed into it.I still wonder about the “threshold of pain”,how all of creation still groans,longingly,stretching with anticipaiton for complete restoration .As difficult as it is to consider Christ’s brutal death as beautiful,it is where God demostrates His power over death and His magnificent love for His creation.

    So it is our responsibility to daily grapple with how to live responsibly within the context of God’s one true and beautiful story???

    Your weekend ; sharing in community………sounds excellent.

  9. Scott — Sunni in Lincoln and so wishing I had been with you in your home town. Thanks for your story, your time, your music and your passion to be faithful in living each day to the fullest. Can’t wait for our paths fo cross again and I know they will! God’s blessings to a fellow traveler.

Leave a Reply

 
