not deterred

i woke up a little before 5 this morning [at least i think i was awake] to see the legs of a huge spider around the edges of the bedroom window. there was just a hint of moonlight that showed this shadowy creature lurking out there. it looked to me like it was trying to get inside. to get at me. so i rolled over and pulled the blankets over my head. but i just couldn’t get back to sleep. so soon i was up and headed for the coffee pot and some ‘stoney creek blend’ from cabin coffee company.

with a mug of steaming coffee and cold feet up on the warm hearth, i flipped through photos from earlier in the fall to find this spider web i snapped in the window of a run-down shed along highway 9. there is a lot i want to get done today. things that i know will require some mental discipline. some focus. things that i have to work for. and i know there is a risk for me to get caught up in other things that rob me of productivity and purpose. so this web is a reminder of that for me today…a reminder to not let myself be caught in a place that prevents me from getting it done. and also, to not be deterred from going into places of solitude from which honest creativity happens. sometimes you just have to get past a web like this to get to the real stuff of life. don’t be deterred today…

IMG_9750

“..but i press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me…”    Philippians 3

 

~ by fourfeetsixinches on December 7, 2012.

3 Responses to “not deterred”

  1. after i left your office the other day i got to thinking. if we have known each other for 23 years, does that mean there is no hope for me. 🙂 today you remind me i will keep pressing on!!

  2. Loved this. Needed that reminder right now in terms of the balancing act December always is. I work at a church, I’m a single Mom to a just 17 year old son who pushes the envelope as much as I did (or mayhaps still do!!). It’s always a “keeping all the balls” in the air challenge. God, family, soccer, work, preparing for a celebration and trying to keep that balanced as well. I love your web analogy – and great pic too!! Blessings!! Bren

Leave a Reply

 
