May 2nd.

I drove the interstate to work today instead of the county roads. They were a little bit treacherous, and I was not all that adventurous today for some reason. This is a photo I took as I got off on the exit ramp. Melbs posted a photo on FB a while ago with a yard stick stuck in the snow up the 12 or 13 inch mark. He was not joking. It’s lovely. And I’m sarcastic. And I never did totally buy Al Gore’s brilliance on the global warming thing…at least not to the degree that he was trying to sell it.

So here we are on the second day of May and we’re a little buried in wet, heavy, snow. The trees and shrubs are doing this prostrate thing all over the place. [have you ever noticed how people seem to interchange the words “prostrate” and “prostate”? Just an observation…and I seem to easily digress.] The daffodils were just starting to push up through the mulch here. The buds were just starting to break open. And now we have regressed by weeks with our biggest snowstorm of the entire winter.

IMG_8755

I am sitting at my desk at work, and so far everyone has either cancelled or not shown up for their appointments. And I don’t think I have anything of much substance to write here today. But the snowstorm has left me restless and a bit disoriented. Perhaps even a little more than a little disappointed, as I’ve been longing for spring for quite some time. Thus my trip south last week to the Iowa Arboretum where I snapped this daffodil shot. And I much prefer it over the snowy, slushy photo above…

IMG_8069“Don’t be deceived, my dear ones. Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights; who does not change like shifting shadows.” – James 1:16

So I know the snow will be gone in a few days, and spring will be back in full force. And the verse in James is a good reminder to me that whatever kind of craziness is going on around me, [even if it is just a late-spring snow storm], that goodness comes from the hand of God. Even if it is a foot of snow or hiding somewhere under that snow. Have a safe day, my midwesterner friends!

~ by fourfeetsixinches on May 2, 2013.

3 Responses to “May 2nd.”

  1. My neighbor’s daffodils looked just like the one in your picture, yesterday. Today they’re covered with a blanket of snow. Thanks for the James 1:16 verse. I do have hope that Spring will come to stay. God doesn’t waste anything!

    Vickie

  2. I agree…hope springs eternal…even if it may be hiding under the snow temporarily:)

  3. Tragic. …..”always winter never christmas”. I really am looking forward to Christmas this year.

Leave a Reply

 
