Alternate Route.

While I was in the drive through waiting for a cup of coffee, my secretary called to tell me that my 9AM appointment had cancelled. I happened to have my camera along, and now, with an extra hour, coffee, and the beginning of Autumn colors all around, I started planning an alternate route to work. Stopping on the wrong side of the road, emergency flashers on, taking little side roads and turn-arounds, a couple of calls from friends, I ended up with a few glimpses of the north Iowa landscape as it looks right now. Was a great start to the day!

Even though I am not normally the “hymn guy”  any more in respect to all of the church songs I grew up singing, sometimes timeless lyrics from some of those  hymns come back to me…

“For the beauty of the Earth, For the glory of the skies, For the love which from our birth, Over and around us lies…”

There are times when the beauty of nature around me and the creation itself, point me back to the Creator. Spring and Fall are often the seasons that do this to me in the most pronounced ways. The alternate route to work this morning left me with a sense of quiet awe, and gratitude for beauty. How beauty captures my attention. How it raises my consciousness. How it puts me in a different perspective of who I am in relation to the world around me and the God of all creation.

“Lord of all to You we raise, This our hymn of grateful praise.”

~ by fourfeetsixinches on October 10, 2013.

2 Responses to “Alternate Route.”

  1. Scotty you are killing me.
    These pics are great, and so are you.
    But, “Our God is Greater”…as you welll know.

  2. Thank you for sharing your “alternate route”. I love your pictures and your thoughts. I miss Iowa. It still looks like summer in Oklahoma. :-/

Leave a Reply

 
