Solitude.

Kayaking the lake shore at sunset.
Alone.
My hands touch the cool waters as my eyes raise, looking to the evening sky. The moon and stars emerge, galaxies as well. From farther away than my mind can fathom.
I’m in awe. Silence and awe.
Alone. But somehow alone with the God of the universe.
I came up north to think. To read. To write.
And to pray…which feels so unlike praying back home…in the midst of work and schedules and daily demands.
Solitude like this pushes me to face my demons. And also to embrace my strengths more passionately. It whispers to me to “knock it off” when it comes to playing small. Smaller than I really am.
Erwin McManus states that “there is a direct relationship between those who live most free and those who dream most. Captivity not only steals our freedom but cripples our imagination.”
There is a freedom, an exhilaration in being a small little speck on this lake tonight. In being surrounded by the beauty and peaceful whisper of the wind in the red pines and the white birch. Is humbling and encouraging at the same time.
All is not well in the world these days, but for now, I am grateful and have a certain oneness with my Creator that I have not felt for a long time. And in that there is a freedom, a freedom to dream and imagine and…

IMG_0929-1.JPG

~ by fourfeetsixinches on September 7, 2014.

2 Responses to “Solitude.”

  1. Beautiful. There are times that I have felt “captive” in this huge city. When we lived in Iowa I had a lake that I went to almost daily for my “quiet time”. There is nothing like nature to make you feel one with your Creator. When you are surrounded by people and buildings…solitude is much more difficult to find. Feeling “alone” is not hard to find but solitude….it’s another thing. I hope that your time in “solitude” and communion with our Father has brought you peace and extravagant dreams for the days ahead. As therapists we need the fresh wind of the Holy Spirit to breathe deep within our souls so that we can continue to do the thing that we are called to!

  2. Peaceful picture. Solitude, the nudge to breathe deeply, unencumbered. “Somewhere we know that without silence words lose their meaning….” Henri J.M. Nouwen

Leave a Reply

 
