Unfolding

I re-read some familiar words from Brennan Manning’s book Ruthless Trust this morning after I snapped this photo in my front yard. “The basic premise of biblical trust is the conviction that God wants us to grow, to unfold, and to experience fullness of life. However, this kind of trust is acquired only gradually and most often through a series of crises and trials.”

I think that most often human types are not so patient and accepting of words like gradual, crisis, and trial.  But they are part of our reality nevertheless. I see these things in my work, in my closest relationships, and even in the mirror. And the amazing part of it all is that out of those conditions of crisis, of trial, and of slow change, there is the possibility of growth, of unfolding, and experiencing the fullness of life. Today, its my hope, my prayer, that none of us will be content to stay in this dewey bud form of life, but rather that we would be open to unfolding, to growth, to experiencing the fullness of life.IMG_0389

~ by fourfeetsixinches on June 15, 2016.

2 Responses to “Unfolding”

  1. I love the picture of you. You are awesome.

  2. What a challenging comfort, to read this post.Why is it that if struggles, trials or pain is avoided growth stalls ? Hope.

Leave a Reply

 
